news from around the "A"

Ronald Acuña Jr., Braves Have Fans Dreaming of WS Title After Clinching NL East

Subscribe to our newsletter

PHILADELPHIA, PA - SEPTEMBER 12:  Ronald Acuna Jr. #13 of the Atlanta Braves hugs Ozzie Albies #1  after hitting a home run during the Major League Baseball game against the Philadelphia Phillies on September 12, 2023 at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  (Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Atlanta Braves’ run of dominance in the National League East continued in 2023.

Atlanta clinched its sixth consecutive division crown with a 4-1 victory over the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday. The Braves improved to 96-50 on the year and a full 17 games ahead of the second-place Phillies.

Social media had plenty of reactions to another division title for the World Series contenders:


The beasts of the NL East continue their reign. #CLINCHED 😤 pic.twitter.com/d5xDMhAEJo

Atlanta Braves @Braves


The Atlanta Braves are 2023 NL East Champions! #ForTheA pic.twitter.com/dIWxcZf5Sg

Bally Sports: Braves @BravesOnBally

The kings of the NL East are celebrating in Philly 👑 pic.twitter.com/uol9pb0Upt

Brandon Gaudin @BrandonGaudin

2018: 🍾 👑 🍾
2019: 🍾 👑 🍾
2020: 🍾 👑 🍾
2021: 🍾 👑 🍾
2022: 🍾 👑 🍾
2023: 🍾 👑 🍾

Alison Mastrangelo @AlisonWSB

The Braves beat the Phillies and earn their 6th straight division title .

They have the most division titles in MLB history. 🍾

I can’t wait for October ! #ForTheA pic.twitter.com/AY5t5JJh5P

Justin Toscano @JustinCToscano

The Atlanta Braves have won the National League East for the sixth year in a row.

This time, they clinched in 146 games – faster than all but one Braves club in the divisional era (since 1969), per Elias. The NL East has not been a race for months, and now it is officially over.

Atlanta Falcons @AtlantaFalcons

Let’s go, @Braves! https://t.co/dMloXv892N pic.twitter.com/1I0CHkIscO

Battery Power @BatteryPowerSBN

And that’s that! Your 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, and now 2023 NL East Champion Atlanta Braves! Good to get it done in hostile territory and the site of some bitter memories from last year. Feels good, and now it’s time to go for home field and beyond!

Cardinals Dude @Turn2Dude

The Braves are gonna be tough to beat in the postseason. Wouldn’t surprise anyone if they are representing the NL in the World Series this year.

Anna Huffstutler @A_Huffstutler

The last time the @Braves won the division on September 13th, they won the World Series…

I like our odds. Keep up the good work, boys! Now onto Miami! #ForTheA https://t.co/cmUBSuDHnT

David Caraviello @dcaraviello

Add one more, #Braves! Divisional champs yet again. Now let’s go win the World Series.

1969 🚩
1982 🚩
1991 🚩
1992 🚩
1993 🚩
1995 🚩
1996 🚩
1997 🚩
1998 🚩
1999 🚩
2000 🚩
2001 🚩
2002 🚩
2003 🚩
2004 🚩
2005 🚩
2013 🚩
2018 🚩
2019 🚩
2020 🚩
2021 🚩
2022 🚩
2023 🚩

MLB Metrics @MLBMetrics

SIX straight division titles for the Braves.

If they win the World Series this year, would you consider them a dynasty?

Daltoñ @daltine_cracker

The last time the Braves clinched the division vs the Phillies, they won the world series pic.twitter.com/NYW2ZoNG60

Doug K (DFRE$H) @Dfreshh73

Next is World Series

Spencer Strider has anchored the Braves’ pitching staff throughout the season, so it was fitting that he was on the mound to start Wednesday’s clincher. He allowed a single earned run and four hits while striking out nine in seven innings of dominant work.

It was far from a solo effort, as MVP contender Ronald Acuña Jr. collected three hits and Austin Riley launched his 35th home run of the season. Kirby Yates locked down the save in the ninth after Brad Hand pitched a scoreless eighth.

The question now is how far the Braves will advance in the postseason.

While the organization was widely known for its dominance in the regular season and then failure to take home the World Series title in the 1990s and early 2000s, the Braves of the 2020s are attempting to change that narrative.

After all, they defeated the Houston Astros in the Fall Classic in 2021 and could make it two championships in three years if they take home the crown this season.

That stands in stark contrast to the previous era from the franchise, which won one World Series during 14 playoff appearances from 1991 to 2005. The Braves lost the World Series four times in that span (1991, 1992, 1996 and 1999).

With players like Acuña, Riley and Matt Olson, this year’s team has the talent to compete for a championship.

Atlanta will surely celebrate the division title, but it has bigger goals.

Read More

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More